Rocks Don’t Have a Heater.

Sheltered disabled children….
Is one thing that really grinds my gears. Parents that feel the need to protect their child is one thing. But keeping them sheltered because they have a disability is another.
Usually these parents believe that their disabled child can’t leave the house alone and they are the only ones that are able to take care of their child. NO!
Gosh I cannot thank my mother enough for never holding me back from doing something because of my disability. My mom never treated me different just because I was in a wheelchair and my brother wasn’t. I still got slapped just as much as he did… My mom actually use to try and force me out the house to take buses and trains alone.
And now I’m in college, and I did it by myself. I applied by myself. I found help by myself. I called for my accommodations and got everything set up and now I’m two semesters away from being a college graduate. Even my mom was impressed that I did it by myself…
It just pains me knowing that there are really children and maybe even adults at this point that are afraid to leave their house without their parents. I talked about independence in a previous blog so this pretty much connects to that.
I’m not trying to offend anyone here, but if you’re a parent with a disabled child… I can tell you right now, your child is NOT alone. And your child IS capable of being independent. And there are SO many resources in the world for disabled people to go where they need to go and get shit done.
Who knows, parents that have disabled children may never even read this blog but I’ve heard stories about parents who just shelter their child because they don’t feel like their child has the ability to do anything on their own. Which calls for a rant.
It’s just sad, really. There’s so much potential that is being wasted away.
My rant for the week is that some parents that have disabled children should realize by now that we’re at a time where resources are endless. Not to mention support groups left and right. Become educated and let your child live the most normal life they could possibly have. That’s all I ask.
I’m a strong advocate for independence and equality for people with disabilities. If it’s not obvious already. So I feel strongly about people with disabilities doing things on their own and growing up to live the most normal life that any other “able-bodied” person will have.

20140413-174128.jpg

2 thoughts on “Rocks Don’t Have a Heater.

  1. This is something that really gets to me too. The fear is worse than the disability itself. At least nowadays kids have access to the internet and can see other people with disabilities going out and doing things and (as you very eloquently stated) “getting their shit done”. Preach.

    Like

Leave a Reply

